Royal Air Force

Operational Honours - Oct 2013

Armed Forces Operational Awards List No 41

23 Royal Air Force personnel have been honoured in the latest Armed Forces Operational Awards and Joint Commanders Commendations for their bravery and service.

Air Officer Commanding No 2 Group, Air Vice Marshal Sean Reynolds CBE DFC RAF attended the event, held at The Tower of London:

‘It is a privilege to be here today to publicly acknowledge the continued dedicationand self sacrifice of our airmen and women and thevital contribution they are making on operations across the globe.

From supporting the ongoing mission in Afghanistan through to rescuing a seriously injured crewman from a fishing vessel in gale force conditions closer to home, I am immensely proud of all our personnel who continue to demonstrate professionalism, commitment and dedication to their duties in the finest traditions of the Royal Air Force’.


Distinguished Flying Cross

Flight Lieutenant Timothy Edward TROTT - RAF Odiham

Queen's Commendation for Bravery in the Air

Flight Lieutenant Christopher GENT - RAF Odiham

Queen's Commendation for Valuable Service

Air Commodore Stephen Dennis FORWARD - RAF High Wycombe

Wing Commander Ruth Ann Frances HARRIS - SHAPE

Air Commodore Bruce Haakon HEDLEY MBE - RAF Waddington

Flight Lieutenant Neil Malcolm MERRITT - Thiepval Barracks

Squadron Leader James Richard ROWE - RAF High Wycombe

Corporal Scott SHARKEY - RAF Lossiemouth

Rest of the World

Order of the British Empire

Wing Commander Robert Alan SUTTON - RAF High Wycombe

Queen's Commendation for Valuable Service

Flight Lieutenant Kerry LLOYD - RAF Digby

Air Force Cross

Flight Lieutenant Christian John WILKINS - No 22 Squadron RAF

Queen's Gallantry Medal

Sergeant Rachael Louise ROBINSON - No 22 Squadron RAF


Joint Commander's Commendations

Squadron Leader Gordon John BEST - MOD Abbey Wood

Sergeant Richard Henry BLACKMORE - RAF Leeming

Flight Lieutenant Benjamin Thomas CLARKE - Chicksands

Sergeant Neil James EVANS - RAF Brize Norton

Corporal Wayne Lee EVANS - RAF Honington

Squadron Leader Richard David James GATES - PJHQ

Corporal Drew Alexander MCINTOSH - RAF Waddington

Flight Lieutenant (Now Squadron Leader) Kevin Michael O’BRIEN - RAF Honington

Squadron Leader Adam MacEwan SMOLAK - RAF Waddington

Rest of the World

Joint Commander's Commendations

Sergeant Nicola Anne APPELBE - RAF Waddington

Squadron Leader Tom WALKER - RAF Brize Norton

Read the inspiring story of one RAF recipient Flight Lieutenant Chris Gent Here

Text size: