Non-Commissioned Ranks

Non-Commissioned Rank Structure

Here is the rank structure for other ranks of the Royal Air Force.

Ranks are shown in ascending order. In many cases, the Royal Air Force rank will be the junior of the three Services, the Royal Navy having seniority over both the Army and RAF.

Rank insignia for non-commissioned ranks is, with the exception of Warrant Officer and Master Aircrew, worn on the upper arm of dress uniform. Warrant Officer and Master Aircrew badges are worn on the lower arm the images of the Non-Commissioned Aircrew are at this link

Leading Aircraftman/Aircraftwoman Leading Aircraftman LAC
Senior Aircraftman/Aircraftwoman Senior Aircraftman SAC
Senior Technician Senior Aircraftman (Technician) SAC Tech
Junior Technician Junior Technician Jnr Tech
Corporal Corporal Cpl
Sergeant Sergeant Sgt
Chief Technician Chief Technician Chf Tech
Flight Sergeant Flight Sergeant FS
Warrant Officer Warrant Officer WO
Text size: