Luftflotte III Stations of the the Battle of Britain

To see the details of each station, rollover its name on the map.

Luftflotte Headquarters

The headquarters for Luftflotte III was in Paris and was commanded by [link not available]. The fleet consisted of 9 Jagdgruppen (Fighter Groups), 15 Kampfgruppen (Bomber Groups), 7 Stukagruppen (Dive-bomber Groups), 4 Zerstorergruppen (Heavy-fighter or Destroyer Groups), 1 Schlachtgruppe and a variety of long range patrol, weather and reconnaissance units. It was split into command administrative units as follows:

  • VIII Fliegerkorps - With headquarters at Deauville under the command of General Richtofen, the Korps consisted of three Stuka Wings, some Fighter-Bomber, Zerstorer and support units.
  • V Fliegerkorps - With headquarters at Villacoublay under the command of General Ritter von Greim, the Korps consisted of three Bomber Wings and two Reconnaissance units.
  • IV Fliegerkorps - With headquarters at Dinard under the command of Major-General Pflugbeil, the Korps consisted of two Bomber Wings, an independent Kampfgruppe, a Stuka Wing Staff Flight and a Reconnaissance unit.
  • Jafu 3 - The Jagdfliegerfuhrer had headquarters at Wissant under the command of Colonel von Massow, and consisted of nine Day-Fighter Groups in three Wings and one Zerstorer Wing.
Text size: