39 Squadron

Providing real-time surveillance, and close air support to frontline troops.

By day and night

A winged bomb.


  • Headquartered at RAF Waddington, Lincolnshire, but based at Creech Air Force Base, Nevada, for RPAS training and operational missions
  • Formed in 1916 as 39 (Home Defence) Squadron, Royal Flying Corps
  • Aircraft flown include the Royal Aircraft Factory B.E.2; Westland Wapiti; Bristol Blenheim and Beaufighter; de Havilland Mosquito; Gloster Meteor NF13; English Electric Canberra PR3, PR7 and PR9; and General Atomics MQ-9A Reaper
  • In 2007, No. 39 Squadron became the RAF’s first RPAS squadron


1916 - Formed on 15 April, equipped with the B.E.2 and tasked with the air defence of northeast London. On 3 September, Lt William Robinson downed a Zeppelin airship over British soil for the first time; he was awarded the Victoria Cross for the action

1918 - Now operating the Bristol F.2B Fighter, 39 Squadron worked with 78 Squadron to shoot down a Gotha bomber on 19/20 May, during the final World War One raid on Great Britain. Posted to France, the unit disbanded in November

1921 - Began working up as an Airco DH.9A-equipped bomber squadron

1928 - Re-equipped with the Westland Wapiti and moved to India. Conversion onto the Hawker Hart began in 1931

1940 - Relocated for bombing attacks in the Middle East and Africa, equipped with the Bristol Blenheim

1941 - Set up base in Egypt during January and began training for maritime work with Blenheims and the Martin Maryland. Started torpedo-strike operations with the Bristol Beaufort in August, then began re-equipping with the Beaufighter in June 1943

1944 - Moved to Sardinia from Malta in February and began rocket attacks, initially over Italy and later Greece. Re-equipped with the Martin Marauder from December

1946 - Disbanded at Khartoum, as a Mosquito operator, on 8 September

1949 - Re-formed as a night-fighter unit flying the Mosquito NF36, from Khartoum, on 1 March. Re-equipped with the Meteor NF13 jet in 1952 and moved to Malta, then Cyprus

1958 - Disbanded on 30 June. Reformed as a Canberra PR3 operator on 1 July by renumbering 69 Squdron. Began operating the Canberra PR9 in 1962

1970 - Returned to the UK, based at RAF Wyton, after 42 years overseas

1982 - Disbanded on 28 May, although a remnant of the squadron remained as 1 Photographic Reconnaissance Unit (PRU). 1 PRU became a 'new' 39 Squadron in 1992. It moved to RAF Marham in 1993 and added the Canberra PR7 to its inventory

2006 - Disbanded on 28 July as the RAF’s final Canberra unit

2007 - Reformed at Creech AFB on 1 January as the RAF’s first Remotely Piloted Air System (RPAS) squadron, ultimately operating the MQ-9A Reaper

Battle honours

Home Defence 1916-1918

North West Frontier 1930-1931

Mohmand 1933

North West Frontier 1935-1939

East Africa 1940

Egypt & Libya 1940-1943

South East Europe 1944-45

Iraq 2003-2011


Please contact the home station (RAF Waddington) Media Communications team for more information or to contact the Squadron

Media enquiries details for RAF Waddington

Using Internet Explorer 8? Please switch to using Chrome if you can.