Book of Remembrance

Books of Remembrance

Along both sides of the church are shrines of remembrance, containing the books of remembrance, in which are inscribed the names of those men and women who have died on active service with the Royal Air Force.

The Books of Remembrance

Book I, on the left nearest to the altar, pre-dates the RAF and has names of balloonists who served with the Royal Engineers, members of the Royal Naval Air Service and the Royal Flying Corps and RAF personnel up to the outbreak of the Second World War.

Books II to IX contain the names of all those died on service during the Second World War.

Book X, on the right nearest to the altar, is from VJ day 1945 to 31st March 2013.

Book XI, opposite Book X is from 1st April 2013

The pages are turned daily and twice a year Book XI is brought up to date.

Those who die in service are remembered shortly after their death during a celebration of the Holy Communion and family member are often present. Once a year in November a memorial service is held for all those who have died during the past year and families are invited to attend. This is a most moving occasion and has helped many people in their grief. It is these books and the names within them that people come across the world to see, making St Clement Danes truly a place of pilgrimage and remembrance.

Copies of the entries can be obtained on request.

Please fill in your query details [link not available].

Join the Friends...

Make a donation today

Legacy giving

  • Legacy giving

    Find out how you can leave a legacy for the next generation

    Your will

Books of Remembrance

Text size: