News articles

A flypast to mark the forthcoming retirement of the Hercules from RAF service

A flypast to mark the forthcoming retirement of the Hercules from RAF service will take place across all four nations of the United Kingdom on Wednesday 14 June.

Details of the planned routing and timings by the three aircraft can be found below and cover locations of significance to the Hercules’ service and 47 Squadron.

The first Hercules arrived at Marshall’s of Cambridge in December 1966 Hercules. Since entering RAF service, originally with 242 Operational Conversion Unit at RAF Thorney Island, it has operated across the globe in support of UK military and humanitarian relief operations.

The transition to the 22-strong Atlas (A400) fleet and other air mobility aircraft has been ongoing for some time. 47 Squadron and the Hercules will continue to deliver on operations supporting UK defence objectives until 30 Jun 23.

The expertise acquired operating the Hercules and its broad range of capabilities will be transitioned across to the other flying platforms in RAF service. This includes Ground support staff (Engineers, Air Operations and Intelligence professions) who will be relocated to similar roles around the RAF.

1000    Depart RAF Brize Norton

1025    National Memorial Arboretum, Alrewas

1034    RAF Cosford

1122    RAF Valley

1148    FS Aldergrove

1251    RAF Lossiemouth (with Typhoon escort)

1408    RAF Leeming

1410    RAF Topcliffe

1423    Beverley

1435    RAF Waddington

1438    RAF College Cranwell

1458    Cambridge Airport

1504    RAF Mildenhall

1515    Colchester Garrison

1622    MOD Boscombe Down

1625    Salisbury Plain (West Down Camp)

1632    MOD Lyneham

1636    Royal Wootton Bassett

1639    Defence Academy of the UK, Shrivenham

1643    Dalton Barracks, Abingdon

1651    RAF Halton

1655    RAF High Wycombe

1705    RAF Brize Norton