II (AC) Squadron

Part of the Northern Quick Reaction Alert securing the skies in the RAF's mission to defend the UK's airspace.

Badge for II (AC) Squadron

Guardian of the Army

Three concentric circles over all a Wake Knot - approved by HM King Edward VIII in May 1936. The circles represent the RAF and the Wake Knot is derived from the arms of Hereward the Wake and indicates the basic role of the unit as a guardian of the Army.


  • Based at RAF Lossiemouth, one of two Quick Reaction Alert (QRA) stations in the UK
  • One of the first fixed-wing units of the Royal Flying Corps
  • Aircraft flown have included the Spitfire XI, Phantom FGR2 and the Tornado GR1A
  • II (AC) Squadron have conducted QRA missions from Estonia as part of Baltic Air Policing


1912 - Formed at Farnborough.

1915 - 2nd Lt Rhodes-Moorhouse was the first airman to be awarded the Victoria Cross.

1944 - Brought back the first aerial photographs of the D-Day Landings.

2016 - The Typhoon FGR4 marks the 23rd aircraft type in the squadron's 104 years.

Battle honours

Western Front 1914-1918*


Neuve Chappelle*

Ypres 1915*


Somme 1916*


Somme 1918

Lys, France and Low Countries 1939-1940*


Fortress Europe 1942-1944

France and Germany 1944-1945

Normandy 1944*

Gulf 1991*

Iraq 2003-2011

Libya 2011*

(Honours marked with an asterisk, may be emblazoned on the Squadron Standard)


Please contact the home station Media Communications team for more information or to contact the Squadron

Media enquiries details for RAF Lossiemouth

Using Internet Explorer 8? Please switch to using Chrome if you can.