13 Squadron is stationed at RAF Waddington, remotely operating Reaper aircraft based in theatre. It is among the first squadrons formed on a single aircraft type, in this case the B.E.2c. Former aircraft have included the Hawker Audax, de Havilland Mosquito, English Electric Canberra and Panavia Tornado. 13 Squadron flew its first operational RPAS (Remotely Piloted Air System) mission in April 2013.

We assist by watching



1915   Formed at Gosport.

1916   Pioneered formation bombing, including a nine-aircraft raid on Achiet-le-Grand. Disbanded in 1919.

1924   Re-formed on the Bristol F.2B Fighter as an army co-operation squadron.

1940   Deployed Westland Lysanders to France as part of the British Expeditionary Force, evacuating back to the UK for air-sea rescue and anti-invasion patrols.

1941   Re-equipped with the Bristol Blenheim.

1942   Began night-intruder work and participated in the Dieppe Raid before moving to North Africa.

1944   Flew the Martin Baltimore and then the Douglas Boston.

1946   Disbanded in Italy, before re-forming in Palestine as a Mosquito photo-reconnaissance squadron.

1956   Stationed at RAF Akrotiri flying the Gloster Meteor PR10 and Canberra PR7, operating the latter during the Suez Crisis.

1978   Moved to RAF Wyton. Disbanded in 1982.

1990   Stood up as a Tornado GR1A reconnaissance unit at RAF Honington, moving to RAF Marham in 1994. Disbanded in 2011.

2012   Reformed as the first UK-based Reaper RPAS squadron.


1915 - 1918*   Western Front

1916   Somme

1916*   Arras

1917*   Cambrai

1918*   Somme 

1918*   Hindenburg Line

1939 - 1940   France and Low Countries 

1939 - 1940*   Dieppe

1942 - 1943   North Africa 

1943   Mediterranean

1944 - 1945*   Italy 

1944 - 1945*   Gustav Line

1944 - 1945*   Gothic Line

1991*   Gulf

2003 - 2011   Iraq

*Honours marked with an asterisk, may be emblazoned on the Squadron Standard.