University of London Air Squadron

An RAF Volunteer Reserve (RAFVR) unit for students from the London area, however students from as far north as Hertfordshire and as far south as Canterbury are welcome to join.

Crest for University of London Air Squadron

Learn by Degrees


  • Has its flying base at RAF Wittering and its town headquarters at RAF Northolt.
  • Offers around 30 places per year to students of associated universities.
  • Aircraft flown have included the Avro 504 and the Chipmunk.
  • Notable members have included Kirsty Stewart, the first female Red Arrows pilot and Colin Chapman, the founder of Lotus Cars.

Weekly training

Weekly training nights are held at town headquarters during term time. Alongside this there is flying training from RAF Wittering, adventurous training throughout the year, sports competitions, ceremonial events, and social events punctuating the annual calendar.


1935 - Founded as the third University Air Squadron.

1951 - Squadron Crest issued.

2013 - Won the Rex Waite Memorial Trophy for the best RAF Charitable efforts in the year.

2015 - Relocated to RAF Wittering from RAF Wyton.

Associated Universities

Contact details

Town Headquarters

The Adjutant, University of London Air Squadron, RAF Northolt, West End Road, Middlesex, HA4 6NG

Flying Headquarters

University of London Air Squadron, RAF Wittering, Cambs, PE8 6HB.



Connect with University of London Air Squadron

Using Internet Explorer 8? Please switch to using Chrome if you can.